Special Report

Letters

August 2018

Thursday, August 16

Letters: Big Pharma Is Working Against Us

Wednesday, August 15

Letters: Time For Ranked-Choice Voting

Monday, August 13

Letters: Clarifying Data On Sex Offenders

Thursday, August 9

Letters: We’ve Seen This Type Of Political Ad Before

Monday, August 6

Letters: What Is Be Change Now Really Up To?

Friday, August 3

Letters: Don’t Rush To Judgment On LNG

Wednesday, August 1

Letters: Playing The Woman Card

July 2018

Monday, July 30

Letters: Ed Case’s Steady Support For Gay Rights

Friday, July 27

Letters: Why Are We Still Talking About False Missile Alert?

Thursday, July 26

Letters: Uber Debate Is Actually About Consumer Protections

Tuesday, July 24

Letters: Hold Off On Banyan Drive Plans

Monday, July 23

Letters: Heroes For The Voiceless

Friday, July 20

Letters: What Does Caldwell Know About Taxis?

Monday, July 16

Letters: Modi, The New Hitler? Nope

Wednesday, July 11

Letters: These Voters Support Tulsi Gabbard

Monday, July 9

Letters: Vote For Honest And Effective Government

Friday, July 6

Letters: Police Board An Issue In Governor’s Race

Monday, July 2

Letters: Help The Police Help Us

June 2018

Thursday, June 28

Letters: Labor Union Finances

Tuesday, June 26

Letters: Doctors Are People Too

Friday, June 22

Letters: Politicians In Trouble

Wednesday, June 20

Letters: City Workers At Risk?

Monday, June 18

Letters: Neighbor Islands Better Suited For New Hawaiian Homelands

Wednesday, June 13

Letters: Tulsi Gabbard’s War

Tuesday, June 12

Letters: Mental Hospitals Are A Terrible Idea

Monday, June 11

Letters: Uber’s Surge Pricing Is Merely Supply And Demand

Friday, June 8

Letters: War Games On The Big Island

Thursday, June 7

Letters: There’s More Than One Way To Battle Opioid Overdoses

Wednesday, June 6

Letters: Regulate Uber Drivers — For Their Own Good

Tuesday, June 5

Letters: Get Involved In The Fight For Clean Water

Monday, June 4

Letters: More On How We Talk About Race

Friday, June 1

Letters: What Does Hanabusa Actually Stand For?

May 2018

Thursday, May 31

Letters: Let’s Not Pretend Society Can Be Color-Blind Just Yet

Wednesday, May 30

Letters: Red Hill Account Is Like A Nonfiction Horror Story

Tuesday, May 29

Letters: Not Buying Hawaii’s Most Popular Politician

Friday, May 25

Letters: Look Closer At Why Homes Are Built In Lava’s Path

Wednesday, May 23

Letters: Hawaii Island Mayor Defended After ‘Colored Guy’ Reference

Tuesday, May 22

Letters: Readers Hate Those Blue Beach Chairs

Monday, May 21

Letters: Kaniela Ing’s Big Mistake

Friday, May 18

Letters: Life In The ‘Punaverse’

Wednesday, May 16

Letters: DOE’s Kishimoto Is Not ‘Highly Effective’

Tuesday, May 15

Letters: Live Lava Cam ‘Fascinating But Scary’

Monday, May 14

Letters: Let The Press Be Our Eyes And Ears

Friday, May 11

Letters: Don’t Let The Mayor Hire The Police Chief

Wednesday, May 9

Letters: Aid In Dying In Big Sky Country

Tuesday, May 8

Letters: We Knew The Risk Of Living In A Lava Zone

Monday, May 7

Letters: Rachael Wong Was Brave To Speak Out

Friday, May 4

Letters: Don’t Hold Your Breath For Millennial Vote

Wednesday, May 2

Letters: The Plague of Dockless Rental Bikes

Tuesday, May 1

Letters: Let Lava Vendors Stay Where They Are

April 2018

Friday, April 27

Letters: Why These Hawaii Retirees Joined The Oregon Migration

Thursday, April 26

Letters: Just Who Would Pay The New Education Tax?

Wednesday, April 25

Letters: Self-Driving Cars Will Not Make Rail Obsolete

Tuesday, April 24

Letters: Socialism Is Not the Answer

Monday, April 23

Letters: We Need To Help Our Children

Friday, April 20

Letters: Mainland Views On Kauai Floods

Wednesday, April 18

Letters: Why Weren’t People Warned About Massive Rainstorm?

Tuesday, April 17

Letters: Protect The Hilo Doctor From Death Threats

Friday, April 13

Letters: Don’t Be Fooled By Zuckerberg’s Boyish Charm

Wednesday, April 11

Letters: Mark Zuckerberg Deserves Better From Kauai

Tuesday, April 10

Letters: Cats Are The World’s Deadliest Invasive Species

Monday, April 9

Letters: We’ve Named Too Many Things After Dan Inouye

Thursday, April 5

Letters: Evictions Threaten Maui Renters

Wednesday, April 4

Letters: Reject ‘Snobbiness’ And Allow Prefab Homes

Monday, April 2

Letters: Aid In Dying — ‘Sad Joke’ Or ‘Dose Of Mercy?’

March 2018

Thursday, March 29

Letters: How About A Little Love For Vacation Rentals

Wednesday, March 28

Letters: No Place For Harassment In Land Of Aloha

Wednesday, March 21

Letters: Is Djou A Turncoat? Or Man Of Integrity?

Tuesday, March 20

Letters: Police Chief Already Under Siege

Monday, March 19

Letters: Waianae Isn’t Only Homeless Camp That Needs Our Help

Thursday, March 15

Letters: School Bus Bullies And Gun Violence

Wednesday, March 14

Letters: Twinkle Borge Is A Hero

Monday, March 12

Letters: Gene Ward Is Blowing Smoke

Friday, March 9

Letters: Suing Farmers Is Simply A Gravy Train For Lawyers

Thursday, March 8

Letters: ‘Assault Weapons Designed For War’

Tuesday, March 6

Letters: Voting System Should Not Discriminate

Monday, March 5

Letters: The Fundamental Right To End One’s Life

Friday, March 2

Letters: We Need To Demand A Stop To Derelict Vehicles

Thursday, March 1

Letters: Reject ‘Hollow, State-Sanctioned Suicide’

February 2018

Wednesday, February 28

Letters: ‘The Biting Shallow Tone Of Comments’

Letters: Big Pharma Is Working Against Us Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Big Pharma Is Working Against Us

But what did you expect with all those D.C. lobbyists and manipulative advertising?

Letters: Time For Ranked-Choice Voting Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Time For Ranked-Choice Voting

Readers opine about Hawaii’s primary election results and sex offender registration.

Letters: Clarifying Data On Sex Offenders Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Clarifying Data On Sex Offenders

The authors of a recent opinion piece make some valid points, but there are some “contravening facts” that must be pointed out.

Letters: We’ve Seen This Type Of Political Ad Before

Letters: We’ve Seen This Type Of Political Ad Before

Tom Coffman had the story long before Martin Hamburger showed up.

Letters: What Is Be Change Now Really Up To? Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: What Is Be Change Now Really Up To?

Suspicions about super PAC support for a Hawaii lieutenant governor candidate.

Letters: Don’t Rush To Judgment On LNG Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Don’t Rush To Judgment On LNG

Not all environmentalists oppose the use of liquified natural gas as a bridge fuel for Hawaii, letter-writer says.

Letters: Playing The Woman Card Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Playing The Woman Card

The election is getting the attention of readers, especially as political attacks begin.

Letters: Ed Case’s Steady Support For Gay Rights

Letters: Ed Case’s Steady Support For Gay Rights

His voting record is in sharp contrast to Donna Mercado Kim’s.

Letters: Why Are We Still Talking About False Missile Alert? Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Why Are We Still Talking About False Missile Alert?

One reader questions why Colleen Hanabusa has not moved on from the January incident.

Letters: Uber Debate Is Actually About Consumer Protections Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Uber Debate Is Actually About Consumer Protections

Civil Beat’s editorial on ride-hailing services versus taxis disappointed some readers.

Letters: Hold Off On Banyan Drive Plans Caleb Hartsfield/Civil Beat

Letters: Hold Off On Banyan Drive Plans

Learning the lessons of Puna Geothermal and the Thirty Meter Telescope.

Letters: Heroes For The Voiceless

Letters: Heroes For The Voiceless

A reader expresses appreciation for efforts to help the disabled in public housing.